Meet author Sally Jo Pitts

Sally Jo Pitts writes what she likes to read–faith-based stories steeped in the mysteries of life and love that will inspire and encourage the reader. Her careers have included: private investigator, lie detection examiner, high school guidance counselor, and teacher with over twenty years’ experience in the field of marriage and family living. She enjoys bringing her professional experience in affairs of the heart and detective work to the fiction page.

Tell us about your newest book.

Winter Deception is about Private Investigators Robert Grey and Jane Carson who intend to combine business with pleasure when they arrive at Topazus, their client’s South Carolina antebellum estate. But a murder gets in the way.

What inspired you to write Winter Deception?

I have worked as a private investigator for years in my lawman husband’s investigations agency. The ideas for character conflict in this story grew out of real issues we dealt with in some of our cases.

What genre do you focus on?

My focus is on two genres right now—romance and mystery/detective. Since I am a private investigator, the mystery genre was a natural. And as for romance, years of working with young people and teaching marriage and family living gave me lots of information about the search for “true love.”

Why do you write?

To share clean, stories that not only provide entertainment but exemplify practical ways to approach conflict from a Christian viewpoint.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing a book?

It is like a pandemic stay-at-home quarantine! My waking moments are submerged in story.

How have you changed or grown as a writer?

Since becoming a Christian writer, it has made me more discerning of spiritual takeaways that abound all around us that I overlooked before.

Do you have other books? We’d love to know.

I have a Hamilton Harbor Legacy romance series of three books, And Then Blooms Love, Stumbling Upon Romance and Designed for Love. Winter Deception is book #2 in my Seasons of Mystery series. Book #1 is Autumn Vindication.

What are you working on now?

I have just completed book #3, Spring Betrayal, that will come out spring 2021, and I’m beginning the #4 summer book that is yet to be named!


Link to book:

Social media links:



Follow me on social media!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *